Who Am I?

Again I say, I woke up one day and my life had changed. I’m still dealing with the aftermath of this ordeal.

I invested so much of myself into my job. I hardly had any time to unwind and relax. I always wanted to be on my A-game because that job meant that much to me. I needed to prove that I was worth it, that they were right in choosing me.

Things changed. My mental paradigm shifted. I tried throwing myself deeper into my work because a part of me was still angry at myself. However, I had also changed. The more I tried proving myself, the more I felt I was being criticised. I couldn’t handle it anymore.

Since I’ve left that job, I feel so empty. For a good year, my job was my life. It defined who I was. Now I feel like I don’t know who I am anymore. A psychologist asked me this question and I honestly started crying because I couldn’t answer. It was like my purpose had vanished.

images-21

Image credit: Google

I’m struggling to refind my purpose. It’s a battle each day because social media is saturated with people who seem to have found their purpose and flourishing.

I’ve decided to take a break from social media. Cleanse myself.

images-19.jpg

Image credit: Google

“Renounce all your thoughts. Repent and let your mind be re-taught.” – Lauryn Hill | Mystery of Inquity

Author: sildgetsays

I'm a young black South African woman who is trying to navigate through life, through my blogs.

Leave a Reply

